Program

Previous programs contained a mix of exciting presentations from customers, partners and industry experts.

We are busy putting together the programme for our 2023 event so stay tuned for further updates!

Lady choosing a book from the library

AMER and EMEA program

Program subject to change

  1. Monday 20 March

    14:05 – 14:10 GMT / 09:05 – 09:10 EDT

    Welcome 

    Jon Bentley, commercial director, OpenAthens

    14:10 – 14:35 GMT / 09:10 – 09:35 EDT

    Opening Keynote: Our users are everywhere: librarians as strategic partners to enable global access to research

    Emily Singley, VP, North American Library Relations, Elsevier

    14:40 – 14:55 GMT / 09:40 – 09:55 EDT

    Plenary: Why our customers around the world value the OpenAthens customer experience

    Matt Olive, customer services manager, OpenAthens

    14:40 – 14:55 GMT / 09:40 – 09:55 EDT

    Plenary: Data trends: What does our single sign-on data tell us about user experience?

    Andy Anderson, data analyst, OpenAthens

    15:05 – 15:20 GMT / 10:05 – 10:20 EDT

    Plenary: TBC

    15:20 – 15:40 GMT / 10:20 – 10:40 EDT

    Break 

    15:40 – 16:05 GMT / 10:40 – 11:05 EDT

    Case study: TBC

    16:15 – 16:40 GMT / 11:15 – 11:40 EDT

    Case study: Practical tips for implementing OpenAthens from Liberty University

    David Leffler, discovery and access librarian, Liberty University, United States

    16:50 – 17:00 GMT / 11:50 – 12:00 EDT

    Best publisher UX award 2023 winner

    Jane Charlton, international marketing manager, OpenAthens  and the Award Winner

    17:00- 17:45 GMT / 12:00 – 12:45 EDT

    Panel debate: Why consistent user experience is essential for global research (and how to achieve it)

    Chair: Emma Wilson-Shaw, e-resources manager, OpenAthens
    Speakers:
    Ben Perry, head of user experience, Jisc
    Chandler Christoffel, User experience librarian, University of Georgia

    17:50- 18:00 GMT – 12:50 – 13:00 EDT

    Highlights and thanks

    Jon Bentley, commercial director, OpenAthens

  1. Thursday 23 March

    14:05 – 14:15 AEDT / 03:05 – 03:15 GMT

    Welcome 

    Jon Bentley, commercial director, OpenAthens

    14:20 – 15:00 AEDT / 03:20 – 04:00 GMT

    Opening panel debate

    15:10 – 15:30 AEDT / 04:10 – 04:30 GMT

    Plenary: Data trends: What does our single sign-on data tell us about user experience?

    Andy Anderson, data analyst, OpenAthens

    15:30 – 15:50 AEDT / 04:30 – 04:50 GMT

    Break

    15:50 – 16:15 AEDT / 04:50 – 05:15 GMT

    Workshop: TBC

    16:20 – 16:35 AEDT / 05:20 – 05:35 GMT

    Our customer experience promise: What you can expect from our team in Singapore

    Lim Peir Jiunn, senior technical specialist, OpenAthens

    16:40 – 16:55 AEDT / 05:40 – 05:55 GMT

    Plenary: TBC

    17:00 – 17:45 AEDT / 06:00 – 06:45 GMT

    Panel debate: Why consistent user experience is essential for global research (and how to achieve it)

    Chair: Emma Wilson-Shaw, e-resources manager, OpenAthens

    Speakers to be confirmed

    17:50 – 18:00 AEDT / 06:50 – 07:00 GMT

    Highlights of day 2 and thanks

    Jon Bentley, commercial director, OpenAthens

     

Speakers

Emily Singley

Emily Singley

Emily Singley is the Vice President, North American Library Relations at Elsevier. Previously she served as Associate University Librarian for Technology and Technical Services at Boston College, where her management portfolio included technology, scholarly communication, metadata, digital production, and resource management. Prior to that Emily held library technology roles at Harvard University, Southern New Hampshire University, and Curry College. Emily has a strong record of service to the library community, previously serving in leadership roles with Seamless Access, the Ex Libris User Group, and the Boston Library Consortium.

“My institution is implementing OpenAthens and it is helpful to learn about the organization's values and plans for the future.”

Access Lab 2022 attendee