Best publisher user experience award

best publisher ux 2020 award

About the award

Our award for best publisher user experience puts the spotlight on those publishers that strive to put their users at the heart of their service design with the simple aim of giving users easy access to their content.

The award builds on our ongoing commitment to drive forward innovation in the information industry and to make access to knowledge as easy as possible for end users.

Previous winners


The winner of the 2020 award was Emerald Publishing: Emerald Insight

Find out why they won and watch their presentation at our Access Lab 2020 conference!

The other 2 finalists were:



Watch the 2020 finalist webinar


The winner of the 2021 award was nkoda.

Find out why they won and watch their presentation at our Access Lab 2021 conference!

The other finalist was:


Watch the 2021 finalist webinar
Two women comparing OpenAthens with similar services

What is the process?

  • The online submissions form will go live in October / November. To be updated on when the form is live, sign up for our newsletter.
  • The judging panel will mark applications and then agree on finalists
  • Finalists will be announced and they will be asked to submit learner and researcher attitudes and reactions to changes in the user journey and overall experience. Audiovisual or written format both acceptable.
  • The panel judges review evidence of finalists’ engagement with learners and researchers.
  • The judging panel discuss finalists’ evidence of learner and researcher engagement
  • Finalists are invited to present in the finalist webinar
  • The judging panel select the winner after the webinar
  • The winner will be announced at our Access Lab event.
Person using a mobile with a Twitter feed, and a laptop

Any queries?

Please contact Jane Charlton, international marketing manager at OpenAthens.

Contact Jane