UX Award 2024 winner - Cambridge University Press

About our award

We established our UX Award in 2020 to recognize publishers and library systems vendors that have developed the best user experience and journey to their content and services. Our goal through this yearly award is to inspire online library service vendors to invest resource in good UX design and make access to knowledge as easy as possible for end users.

This is the fifth year of our UX Award. Previous winners include: Sage Publishing (2023), De Gruyter (2022), nkoda (2021) and Emerald Publishing (2020).

Who can apply?

Online library service vendors of all sizes including, but not limited to:


Library systems

Research and analytics tools

People holding up a trophy

UX Award finalists webinars

We have curated a playlist of previous UX award webinars so you can catch up on the previous winners and finalists and learn about user experience.

Watch our playlist of UX Award finalists!
Judge and weighing scales
Two women comparing OpenAthens with similar services

What is the process?

  • Award applications open
  • Deadline for applications
  • Finalists announced
  • Finalists submit evidence of learner and researcher attitudes and reactions to changes in user experience
  • Finalists webinar
  • Winner announced at our Access Lab event
Woman writing application

How to apply

Award criteria

We’ll provide more details but these criteria are broadly what we’re looking for:

  1. Evidence of user experience research.
  2. Demonstrate good user experience design.
  3. Tangible evidence of learner and researcher engagement throughout the project.
  4. Demonstrate an improved simple, seamless user journey.
  5. Provide a statement of compliance with WCAG 2.1 AA accessibility guidelines.
  6. Define user experience goals and objectives, and explain how you measured success.
  7. Evidence how a user experience approach was strategically adopted and embedded across the organization.
  8. Describe your future plans for user research and how a user experience approach has been embedded in product development.
Apply for our UX award now!

Apply for our UX award

We will use the contact details you provide to us to send you information about our products and services.

You can opt out of our emails at any time by using the link in the emails and you can view our privacy policy.

All required fields are marked with '*'

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.
Person using a mobile with a Twitter feed, and a laptop

Any queries?

Please contact Jane Charlton, senior marketing manager – community and content at OpenAthens.

Contact Jane